30 students receive President’s Volunteer Service Award

Posted on Monday, December 2, 2013

Thirty OLLU students have earned the President’s Volunteer Service Award – almost double the number who earned the award last year. Together the students provided 4,100 volunteer hours to the community.

The President’s Council on Service and Civic Participation was established in 2003 to recognize the contributions volunteers are making in their communities. The Council created the President’s Volunteer Service Award program as a way to honor Americans who inspire others to engage in volunteer service.

The honor is awarded to those who have completed at least 100 hours of service within a year. The award is given at the bronze, silver and gold levels. The bronze medal is awarded to those who complete 100-174 hours, the silver medal is awarded to those who complete at least 175 hours and the gold medal is awarded to those who complete 250 or more hours. Recipients receive a medal, a personalized Certificate of Achievement, a letter from the President of the United States and a letter from the President’s Council.

Gold Medal Winner:
• Ernethia Carter-Abernathy – 549 service hours

Silver Medal Winner:
Elizabeth Ibarra – 389 service hours

Bronze Medal Winners:
Roland Aleman – 109 service hours
Silvia Alvarez – 107 service hours
Kevin Castaneda – 100.50 service hours
Grace Chavez – 113.50 service hours
Tahiry Contreras – 111.75 service hours
Selina Diaz – 108.75 service hours
Amy Lopez – 111 service hours
Chloe Medrano – 100.25 service hours
Yadira Montalvo – 105.25 service hours
Ivana Montenegro – 106.75 service hours
Silvia Nunez-Castorena – 115.25 service hours
Alyssa Parga – 105.75 service hours
Nallely Prudencio-Olvera – 100 service hours
Courtney Purl – 154 service hours
Cassandra Rodriguez – 135 service hours
Cesar Rodriguez – 167.25 service hours
Kimberly Rodriguez – 125 service hours
Stephanie Rodriguez – 117.50 service hours
Veronica Rodriguez – 120.25 service hours
Sara Santiago – 101 service hours
Guadalupe Sinyard – 110.75 service hours
Sandra Torres – 129.25 service hours
Kathleen Traver – 103 service hours
Amanda D. Valdez – 116.75 service hours
Valarie Villarreal – 135.75 service hours
Chloe Wolfe – 107.25 service hours
Bernice Zamora – 102 service hours
Maria Zavala – 105.25 service hours

Ernethia Carter-Abernathy, Kimberly Rodriguez, Veronica Rodriguez and Valeria Villarreal are receiving the award for the third time.

Roland Aleman, Grace Chavez, Amy Lopez, Cesar Rodriguez, Sara Santiago and Chloe Wolfe are receiving the award for the second time.