View Content

<< Back

Jon Esquivel and José Rubén De León: 'Tardeada de Música Romántica' (10/11)

Enjoy an afternoon of romantic vocal and instrumental selections and support the rebuilding efforts at Our Lady of the Lake University (OLLU) during the “Tardeada de Música Romántica” at 3 p.m. on Saturday, Oct. 11, 2008 in Thiry Auditorium.

Tickets are $10 with proceeds supporting OLLU. Pre-sale tickets are available at the OLLU Bookstore.  Call 210-431-3932 for more information.

The featured performers include award-winning actor-playwright-musician José Rubén De León (pictured at right), who is OLLU’s coordinator of liturgy and music, and pianist Jon Esquivel (pictured at left), who has penned more than 75 original compositions and has served as a music educator in the San Antonio ISD for more than 30 years.

De León’s vocal offerings will include such classics as Armando Manzanero’s “Somos Novios,” Osvaldo Farrés’ “Quizás, quizás, quizás,” and Consuelo Velásquez’ “Bésame mucho.” Esquivel, accompanied by George Prado, acoustic bass, and Arturo Yglesias, drums, will incorporate pieces from composers including George Gershwin, Cole Porter and Roberto Cantoral.

See the full song lists below:

Jon Esquivel’s Song List

1. The music of Michel Legrand:
“Watch what happens” and “What are you doing the rest of your life?”
2. The music of George Gershwin:
“Love is Here to Stay” and “Someone to Watch Over Me”
3. The music of Antonio Carlos Jobim:
“Wave” and “Once I Loved”
4. The music of Cole Porter:
“Night & Day” and “I Love You”
5. The music of Roberto Cantoral:
“El Reloj” and “El Triste”
6. The music of Armando Manzanero:
“Todavia” and “Adoro”
7. The music of Maria Grever:
“Jurame” and “El Día que me Quieras”
8. The music of Jon Esquivel:
“Música de mi pasión”
“Y me Acerco yo a Ti”
“Eres tu mi Amor”
“Viaje de Ternura”

José Rubén De León's Song List

1. “Dos Gardenias” (Isolina Carrillo)
2. “Veinte Años” (María Teresa Vera)
3. “Contigo en la Distancia” (César Portillo de la Luz)
4. “Quizás, Quizás, Quizás” (Osvaldo Farrés)
5. “Acercate Mas” (Osvaldo Farrés)
6. “La Gloria eres Tú” (José Antonio Méndez)
7. “Somos Novios” (Armando Manzanero)
8. “Sabor a Mí” (Alvaro Carrillo)
9. “Farolito" (Agustín Lara)
10. “Noche de Ronda” (Agustín Lara)
11. “Solamente una Vez” (Agustín Lara)
12. “María Bonita” (Agustín Lara)